• RE: Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?

    @Trevan said in Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?:

    @Cernel said in Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?:

    @Panther What I believe @Trevan is asking is whether or not the AA fire is more of a "first strike" than the surprise strike.

    In practice, think about you have a house rules modified game in which you add a "minefield", or whatever, unit that is exactly the same as an AA gun, except that it is a sea unit and targets all sea units (instead of all air units). Would the "minefield" resolve its fire and remove casualties before, at the same moment or after the "submarine" make their strikes?

    In the current engine, units hit by AA fire are removed from the battle before isFirstStrike (aka subs) can fire. So the "minefield" will have removed the "submarine" before it gets to fire.

    @Trevan Let me know if I understood you correctly. I think I understand exactly what you mean, but you are not being very clear. For example, here:

    For example, a game has "Defending Subs Sneak Attack" and there is a firstStrike unit attacking another firstStrike unit. If there is a destroyer on defense, then the defending firstStrike gets a sneak attack before the attacker. If the destroyer is on offense, then the attacker gets the sneak attack. But if the destroyer isn't there, then both the attacker and defender can fire at each other.

    Instead of "then both the attacker and defender can fire at each other", I assume you mean "then both the attacker and defender can strike first" ("first strike" is "surprise strike" @Panther). Side note, you are clearly referring to v3 and later rules destroyers only, not v1 or v2 ones.

    I have no idea if I'm referring to v3, v2, or v1 destroyers since I don't know what that exactly means. I'm just referring to how the code treats the destroyers.

    As for the battle, "then both the attacker and defender can fire at each other" means that neither gets a sneak attack on each other. The attacker can fire and hit the defender, but the defender can fire back.

    Then, you are wrong. If there are no destroyers at all in the battle, both under v2 and v3+ rules (v1 doesn't matter here, as only offensive submarines can), all submarines offensively and defensively "sneak attack" on each other. This too implies that the defender can fire back, but the reason is because the defender is "sneak attacking" too, not because "neither gets a sneak attack". Under v2 rules, the fact that all submarines offensively and defensively "sneak attack" is actually true also in any case of destroyer presence, as the destroyer has the function of delaying "sneak attack" casualties removal.

    To be clear, I understand that you are substantially understanding the matter correctly, but you are explaining it wrongly, especially in the moment you say "neither gets a sneak attack on each other", because you don't get a sneak attack on something specifically. I believe you should have said something like "neither is able to cause any removal of sneak attack able units before they can fire too", instead.

    posted in Development
  • RE: Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?

    @Trevan said in Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?:

    Units that were hit in each phase are removed after the phase and can not fire back, unless certain options are enabled or certain situations are present. For the AA phase, I don't see any option that disables that ability. All units hit during the AA phase are removed from battle after the phase. In the navalBombardment phase, hit units can fire back if "Naval Bombard Casualties Return Fire" is true. In the firstStrike phase, it depends on whether a unit with isDestroyer is present.

    Regarding firstStrike, this is true for v2 rules submarines, but not for v3 rules ones. V3 rules ones would simply fire in the normal phase, if a destroyer is present on the opposite side.

    I'm talking about the "intended" rules, not the current TripleA program behaviour, whatever that is.

    posted in Development
  • RE: Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6

    @redrum @Hepps noticed a bug in the map airplanes based in western africa cannot scramble to sz 62 for amphibious assaults. not sure if the bug effects other adjacent spaces.

    posted in Maps & Mods
  • RE: TWW 3.0.0.6/8? colin (ax) vs ubernaut (al) episode 3

    @colin hey there quick issue if you are still around migght be best to discuss it in the lobby

    posted in Play By Forum
  • RE: TWW 3.0.0.6/8? colin (ax) vs ubernaut (al) episode 3

    @colin i think it's back 😛

    posted in Play By Forum
  • RE: TWW 3.0.0.6/8? colin (ax) vs ubernaut (al) episode 3

    @colin quickie ool

    posted in Play By Forum
  • RE: TWW 3.0.0.6/8? colin (ax) vs ubernaut (al) episode 3

    TripleA Move Summary: Usa round 11

    TripleA Move Summary for game: Total World War: December 1941 3.0, version: 3.0.0.6

    Game History

    Round: 11
    
        Research Technology - Usa
            Usa spend 0 on tech rolls
    
        Combat Move - Usa
            Trigger americanHvyTank1: Setting isLandTransportable to false for unitAttachment attached to americanHeavyTank
            Trigger americanMecht3: Setting isLandTransportable to false for unitAttachment attached to americanMech.Infantry
            Trigger americanL4: Setting movement to 6 for unitAttachment attached to Train
            Trigger americanL2: Setting movement to 3 for unitAttachment attached to Truck
            Trigger americanTank1: Setting isLandTransportable to false for unitAttachment attached to americanTank
            Trigger americanAirtraninfra1: Setting isInfrastructure to false for unitAttachment attached to americanAirTransport
            Trigger americanAirtraninfra1: Setting attack to 1 for unitAttachment attached to americanAirTransport
            Trigger americanAirtraninfra1: Setting destroyedWhenCapturedBy cleared  for unitAttachment attached to americanAirTransport
            Trigger EasternSzechwanLLUsa1: Usa takes ownership of territory Eastern Szechwan
            Trigger EasternIranLLUsa1: Usa takes ownership of territory Eastern Iran
            Trigger ArchangelLLUsa1: Usa takes ownership of territory Archangel
            1 americanInfantry moved from Gibraltar to 41 Sea Zone
            1 americanInfantry moved from 41 Sea Zone to Southern Spain
            9 americanInfantrys and 1 americanMarine moved from Johnston Island to 116 Sea Zone
            2 americanBattleships, 2 americanCruisers, 9 americanInfantrys, 1 americanMarine, 3 americanNavalFighters and 5 americanTransports moved from 116 Sea Zone to 123 Sea Zone
            9 americanInfantrys, 1 americanMarine and 3 americanNavalFighters moved from 123 Sea Zone to Marianas Island
    

    Savegame

    posted in Play By Forum
  • RE: TWW 3.0.0.6/8? colin (ax) vs ubernaut (al) episode 3

    @colin up for battle

    posted in Play By Forum
  • RE: Revised Tournament of Champions (ToC 15) "Arctic Convoy"

    hi all
    epinikion (allies) won vs nardawgg (axis +9). It was a wild battle. axis attacked early in algeria, killing usa fig and bomber, but loosing soon control and income in africa. Later axis allowed an usa landing in south europe. Add good dices for the allies in the small trading battles and allies won the game. Thanks nardawgg for good game and fair play.

    epi

    posted in Revised Tournament Of Champions
  • RE: Should the sneak attack of FirstStrike unit battle steps change during the round?

    @Panther What I believe @Trevan is asking is whether or not the AA fire is more of a "first strike" than the surprise strike.

    In practice, think about you have a house rules modified game in which you add a "minefield", or whatever, unit that is exactly the same as an AA gun, except that it is a sea unit and targets all sea units (instead of all air units). Would the "minefield" resolve its fire and remove casualties before, at the same moment or after the "submarine" make their strikes?

    @Trevan Let me know if I understood you correctly. I think I understand exactly what you mean, but you are not being very clear. For example, here:

    For example, a game has "Defending Subs Sneak Attack" and there is a firstStrike unit attacking another firstStrike unit. If there is a destroyer on defense, then the defending firstStrike gets a sneak attack before the attacker. If the destroyer is on offense, then the attacker gets the sneak attack. But if the destroyer isn't there, then both the attacker and defender can fire at each other.

    Instead of "then both the attacker and defender can fire at each other", I assume you mean "then both the attacker and defender can strike first" ("first strike" is "surprise strike" @Panther). Side note, you are clearly referring to v3 and later rules destroyers only, not v1 or v2 ones.

    posted in Development