@Frostion are we talking the latest release, or latest pre-release?
Yes, I see the same when I try this out. I can’t explain, but it seems like an air transported unit cannot enter battle firing it own targeted attacks. @Cernel and @LaFayette perhaps you can explain if this is the way it should be?
@Trevan has become the new resident expert on how that would work : ) Can you answer this one after having dug into the code around this recently?
Maybe @Panther can give an interpretation here, but I'm fairly positive that air transported units not being able to use their AA fire is completely consistent with every rules set. AA fire certainly happens before the air transported units cease to be cargo, since they are automatically destroyed if the air transport is lost because of AA fire. Since every AA fire is considered to be simultaneous, air transported units cannot make AA fire, on the first round of combat, as in doing so they would actually either:
- do it after the other AA fire (and only as long as the trasport is not downed), which should not happen, or
- do it while they are cargo, which should be impossible.
In my opinion, if you want air transported units being able to make AA fire, you should make a feature request about a property (or something) that changes the rules as to say that air transported units cease to be cargo before the AA fire step (so they can be destroyed by AA fire only if the AA fire is targeting them) (so that you would assume that the air transported units jumped out of the air transport before the AA fire happens) or a feature request about a property (or something) about having two or more levels of AA fire, happening sequentially (for example, in the case of transport planes dropping paratroopers, you can have first the (heavy) AA fire to destroy the planes (before the paratroopers can jump out) and, then, the (light) AA fire to kill the paratroopers while they are parachuting).
Realistically, most paratroopers should not be lost when the transport plane is lost. There is usually plenty of time for them to jump out while the plane is on its death dive and, besides, it is normal even for the crew to parachute once the plane appears to be lost, so I really don't know why to have this rule, but the rules are what they are. On the other hand, it can also easily happen that crew members and passengers are killed in the plane without the plane being lost or even seriously damaged (just some small holes in the fuselage).
A more involved feature would be generally allowing cargo to take part in combat while still being cargo (this would make a lot of sense for ships during the age-of-sails and before, when the men transported by the ships would fight in the naval battles, also by boarding and capturing other ships).
However, you can still give air transported units "first strike", instead of AA fire. In theory, air transported units should be able to make "first strike" in v3 or later rulesets (as in v3 "first strike" happens after AA fire, while in v2 it happens at the same time as AA fire) (I said in theory, because I don't believe TripleA supports this difference between v2 and v3, but I'm not sure).
AFAIK air transported units behave as carge during AA, and then they join the battle if their air transport is not destroyed during AA.
Yep. Paratroopers are cargo when the AA fire happens (thus cannot do anything and are destroyed if the unit they are cargo of is destroyed) and cease being cargo only after the AA fire step is over, so they are too late to take part in it. However, they should be able to make AA fire from the second round of combat onwards if the AA fire is set to last for more than 1 round of combat.
So I would confirm what @Trevan said:
Paratroopers don't land until after the AA/Targeted round. They don't fire until after they land and so they don't get their first Targeted fire until the second round.
Related to this, @Panther: What do you think it should happen if there is an "aaGun" unit that is able to make AA fire against "tank" (land) units and, in doing so, kills a tank that is land transporting one infantry unit. Should the infantry be lost at the same time or should it be unaffected? Anyone knows or tested how this actually works in the program?
I think cases like this make highly advisable to have one property or one option to allow the mapmakers to settle the matter, individually.