@ubernaut said in Low Luck and Kamikaze Fighters:
so i am wondering if playing low luck should have any effect on the no kamikaze fighters rule. Normally, you are allowed to assume (for the purposes of fighter movements) with an attacking fleet that you might not receive any return fire hits, therefore, providing a landing place for your fighter(s).
As low luck being purely a custom rule, there is obviously no official answer to any of this. If someone wants to play Low Luck, or apply whatever other kind of purely made-up rules, it is up to him alone also to clarify any implications. For games using Low Luck, it would be up to the mapmakers to clarify all such cases in game notes (I know that is not usually going to happen...). For tournaments and ladders applying Low Luck to not originally Low Luck games, it is up to the administrators to clarify all such cases (in the tournament/ladder rules).
But in low luck, you have likely have a guaranteed minimum number of hits rather than the conceivable 0 with dice. So the question is when determining loses are you allowed as an attacker to choose a casualty which then forces a kamikaze fighter loss.
Yes, you are allowed to, also with regular dice.
Perhaps this isn't even alow luck question but Low Luck certainly puts this into the grey area of whether or not we are talking about the rule for movement which is very clearly written and the rules for OOL which seem to be non-existent.
Indeed, this question is substantially unrelated to Low Luck.
here is the scenario (revised rules) i am talking about and why it could matter.
2 fighters and 1 carrier travel two spaces to attack 2 destroyers and a transport which no other place to land the fighters than on the attacking carrier.
in the first round, the attacker scores 2 hits (maximum) and the defend scores 1 hit (minimum). if the attacker is allowed to choose the carrier as a casualty then the battle is still even in round 2 and will come down to a coin toss in round 3. but if the attacker is prevented from doing this attack bc of the consequences of playing low guaranteeing a hit unless they choose to leave the carrier for the last casualty to prevent a forced kamikaze fighter then the attacker would be disadvantaged in round 2.
i was told @Panther might be interested in this so dropping that mention as well.
As I suppose @panther will confirm, this matter has nothing to do with the "no kamikaze" rule (very misleading name, btw). This rule (assuring your fighters might have any chances to land) applies only during the movement phases, and not at all during the conduct combat phase.
Meaning that if you have any numbers of fighters and carriers attacking in a battle, you are completely free to select carriers first as casualties, no matter if, this way, you might doom any fighters to crash thereafter. Same thing (no restrictions) for whatever else of relevance happening during conduct combat (namely, retreating carriers).
This is a common source of confusion, and that is why I also documented it in the notes of World At War, despite the fact that it just works this way in all basic games, regular or low luck dice notwithstanding.