All, thanks for all the great questions and comments. First, on a general point, and as I stated in the rules, kamikaze figs are not allowed. This is consistent with the rulebook on page 14, which states,
An air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total move value. Thus, a bomber with a normal move value of 6 cannot move six spaces to get to a hostile space. It must save at least one movement point to get to a neighboring friendly territory where it can land. A fighter can move its full four spaces to attack instead of saving movement, but only if a carrier could be there by the conclusion of the Mobilize New Units phase.
Furthermore, on page 26,
"You cannot send air units on 'suicide runs' deliberately moving them into combat with no place to land afterward. If there is any question about whether an attack is a 'suicide run' then in the Combat Move Phase, you must declare, prior to rolling any battles, some possible way (however remote the possibility is) for all your attacking units to land safely that turn. This could include a combination of combat moves. It could also include noncombat moves by a carrier. If it does include noncombat moves by a carrier, then the carrier cannot move in the Combat Move phase"
With respect to the questions, I will do my best to answer, as follows:
Question: "Do ACC have to move to pickup location during CM?"
Answer: No. Since you have the option to move the carrier there in non-combat, you do not have to move the AC solely in combat to a sea zone where the figs can land safely, but for clarification, it must be possible in either combat or NCM.
Question: If above is false, then does the ACC have to move to pickup location during NCM, even if the fighters that were supposed to land have been killed?
Answer: No they do not if ALL the fighters were destroyed, but if one or more figs survived, then the appropriate number of ACs need to be moved there (e.g. one AC for 1-2 figs, 2 ACs for 3-4 figs, etc.)
Question: If point 1. is false, then what is the rule on a double enemy block of ACC, e.g. the ACC begins the turn in sz A and wants to pickup fighters in sz C. However sz B has an enemy ships blocking the path to sz C, and there is also enemy ships in sz C (pickup location).?
Answer: good question! If sz B is blocking sz C, then there is only one possibility to go to sz C to land the figs, and that is the case where other naval or air units clear both sz B and sz C, so that the AC in question can then legitimately move to sz C in non-combat. This is consistent with the rule book, but for avoidance of doubt, that AC in question cannot be involved in combat, as it cannot move in both CM and NCM.
Question: is the battle calculator inside triple A game the only officially allowed demonstration of results?
Answer: no, any legitimate battle calc can be used, but at the end of the day, it's just math, so if there any dispute on the >0% number, I can run the numbers in excel for anybody.
Question: is RL and LL treated the same?
Question: Does the software automatically address these contingencies, or do we need to monitor and enforce this rule ourselves?
Answer: As this is a complex set of contingencies, you will need to monitor and enforce this manually. Perhaps in a future version of the software, we can address this, but for the time being, it needs to be enforced manually. THEREFORE, the rule shall be as follows, IF a player violates the AC / fig rule stated above (whether it was intentional or accidental), that particular battle must be re-rolled and the original results will not stand. This entails making an edit to the game file, if such a scenario occurs. That being said, if a player continues with his/her next move and does not challenge the battle results, then the result will indeed stand, and a retrospective challenge beyond one power's turn cannot be done (e.g. if this issue happens during the UK turn, and Japan does not challenge it in his/her turn, then the US/Russia may continue). This is to ensure that everyone does indeed take responsibility and check the moves by his/her opponent in the "history" section of the software.
In summary, the best thing to do is to be very careful with your combat and non-combat moves in order to avoid a dispute like this. Each opponent should proactively communicate with their opponent in such scenarios.