The rulebook clearly states: "If you moved any land units into unoccupied hostile territories or hostile territories that contain only industrial complexes and/or antiaircraft guns, no actual combat is necessary. Simply skip to step 7 (Conclude combat) for each of these territories." (page 18).
That sentence isn't in my download of the anniversary rules. Tried searching. Downloaded again from here: https://www.axisandallies.org/resources-downloads/
Sounds like the present behaviour might be correct.
There you find the link to the 2017 rulebook update that includes this clarification.
It is part of the Europe/Pacific/Global 1940.2 rulebooks as well as of the 1942.2 rulebook, too!