Purpose of Can End NonCombat Move With Enemies
TorpedoA last edited by
What would be the tactical purpose or reason to move isSub-units (related suboption canMoveThroughEnemies) into enemy territory in non-Combat?
The only purpose i can think of is the following scenario:
( Territory A not connected with territory C )
Territory A = enemy army stack including 2 movement units which are a threat to Territory C
Territory B = enemy army stack
Territory C = e.g allied factory or high income worth to defend or just in general a territory you wanna defend or just delay the conquest.
Now if i move a unit with canMoveThroughEnemies into Territory B in non-combat then i have delayed the possible additional attack of 2 movement units from enemy territory A onto territory C.
Is there something more ?
In 1940 Europe/Pacific/Global it’s sometimes done just to park a sub in a convoy zone. It might be a big enough tactical nuisance to kill the sub that it will probably survive even being mixed in with enemy units.
Also In 1940 Europe/Pacific/Global rules it can mess with transports starting in the sea zone. If you have transports beginning in the sea zone and you attack the sub, those transports can’t be used in the non-combat move phase. If the whole plan was to transport units in the non-combat phase then you might have to ignore the sub to get that done.
isSub units also have 'canMoveThroughEnemies' so the units in A ignore the isSub unit in B and continue to move to C. Unless some of the unit from A can detect, 'isDestroyer', the isSub, then only those units must remain in B to engage. Other unit may also remain in B with the isDestroyer to help in the attack.
Since the units in A are doing the movement, the isSub unit can not elect to unSubmerge/unHide to hinder the movement of the units out of A.
So yes a isSub unit can move undetected into a blocking territory, but it servers no purpose, a 'isDestroyer' cancels its ability to retreat/hide/submerge, firstStrike and allow 'canNotBeTargetedBy', isAir units, to attack.
TorpedoA last edited by
Thank you. Very good examples.
Nevertheless i forgot to precisly pointing out that i am specifically talking about a scenario on land without any destroyer present while using canMoveThroughEnemies (only) and the related rule: Can End NonCombat Move With Enemies.
Fortunately you didnt say that the purpose in my scenario at those conditions is not a viable tactic, but eventually the only one then.
Only if territory B is owned by the land isSub unit. Because the unit does not have canEvade, it can not remain hidden, and thus could not take control of B during the noncombat movement. Nor could the unit enter into A or C and remain there. During the combat move it could pass through A or C and take control of B.
If the units in A and C wanted to attack territory D, and B and C connect to D, then this would stop the units in A from joining the attack by blitzing through B.