EXP Game 1 Trout vs Johnny Cat
-
@johnnycat Hey there JC. A few things I am noticing from your UK2.
-
If a territory is Pro-Allied, then you can just plop a dude on it and it becomes yours. So in the future, one move that most people do is on UK1, move an infantry into Persia and immediately you receive 2 extra dollars and 2 free UK dudes.
-
In the Pacific, somehow you were able to land a Bomber on your carrier in SZ10, but carriers can only carry fighters and Tac B's unless you are Doolittle but I digress. There is a special carrier that enters the game later which can carry Bombers but they are not available in the early game where we are now.
-
Looks like you have submarines in SZ30 and SZ31 for blocking but submarines don't block naval unit movement.
-
It's a common move for UK that any dudes in South Africa use the railroad instead of walking through the Serengeti.
-
Those four orange territories in the South Pacific are big money. Sometimes referred to as the money islands. Allies can also just plop guys on there and get the extra money each turn. So a common move is on UK1 for UK to move a guy by transport from India or Malaya to Sumatra and voila! income up by 4. Then on ANZAC1, move a guy from New South Wales to Java and now Crocodile Dundee's boys just got 4 extra dollars each turn. Then often they make things difficult by fortifying those islands. Each fort costs $1 and increases dude defense to 3.
With those things in mind, do you want to redo your UK2? Or if you like I can do Edit Move on Mafia's turn to have your 2 dudes in Rhodesia relocate to the pyramids if that is where you would like them to debark from the train.
Probably beginning to see why Game 1 always ends up being largely a learning exercise
-
-
@trout OK YES
But not because I am super competitive, ego centric, narcissist that must WIN... hahahaha
though I mention it because I applaud you for actually trying to teach me - I've occasionally met dudes that were shockingly competitive. to a fault..
And also because I need to learn and fixing all this would be helpful.... I have no idea why a bomber is on a carrier - wait you mean the little tact bomber? I thought that was a fighter like a carrier based dive bomber
Anyway I will redo now... thanks
-
So there are the large bomber units - and I gather they don't land on carriers ... but it's nice to hear that the rules allow for some Doolittle action later on... where are those rules in the rule book ?
Those "tactical" bombers - can land on carriers?
Can dudes in California or Central America take RR to the east coast?
How does South African dudes take a railroad? I don't see RR units like those wheel things that China has. And USSR has too
I noticed the wheel things can move way more than 3 guys...how to use those wheel things and RR in general...
Thanks
-
heh heh We're all about FandG here Cat. Or back in the 70s "Fun and Games" lol
yea so the Bmbr on the CV is because in Early 1943 JPN and USA are allowed to build 2 Hvy CVs each which can carry more planes, including Strat Bmbrs. Not really sure what to make of that part of the rule but as mentioned previously, these are the Captain's rules

I will make an adjustment for the next update where this is not possible to land a Strategic Bmbr on a CV until then. Then being when they become available in Early 43

Note that there is Player Enforcement regarding the use of the Hvy CVs when they are in play. Refer to the triplea Game Notes for more information.
Edit
yea there are a lot of somewhat new optional rules that aren't in the rule book. Here is the one for Hvy CVsThe House rule link at the other site will list them all. Or almost all. he might be missing 1 or 2

https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/36945/axis-allies-global-1940-house-rules-expansion
just scroll down a bit and you'll see them

I've thought about putting them all in one doc but have never tried. I'd have to think and learn how to do it lol Probably pretty easy but so was trying to remember which key opened the gas cap lol
Dementia has it's plus and minuses but at least I didnt take a hammer claw and rip it open

Edit
The Paratroopers can move 3 from a Air Base. They get a boost like planes do as the Para is considered to have his transportation as part of his unit.For USA, I haven't really used them much, as they take a while to get into position. There is probably some strategies out there that do use them though. I've thought about exploring it but really haven't that much.
A UK AB in GIB would let them hit S FRA and if you trprt them to London then they can hit W EUR.
UK Paras seem a better go but I'm just a intermediate oob Global player so i'm sure there are other options I don't even see.
@Trout is correct in saying the multiple options one has. We're still finding them and with all the possibillities, you might be able to narrow them down but probably take a while and the multiple counters ... well lets just say I don't see this game getting stale anytime soon

-
-
-
@johnnycat Game History
Round: 2 Purchase Units - Italians Italians buy 1 fighter, 1 infantry and 1 italian_para; Remaining resources: 4 PUs; Combat Move - Italians Trigger Americans DemoHarbour: has removed 1 demo_harbour owned by Americans in Philippines Trigger British DemoHarbour: has removed 1 demo_harbour owned by British in Malaya Trigger RailMovementAutoPlaceItalians: Italians has 1 Europe_Rail placed in Southern Italy Turning on Edit Mode EDIT: Turning off Edit Mode 2 armour moved from Yugoslavia to Greece 4 infantry moved from Yugoslavia to 97 Sea Zone 2 artilleries moved from Yugoslavia to 97 Sea Zone 2 artilleries and 4 infantry moved from 97 Sea Zone to Greece 1 destroyer moved from 95 Sea Zone to 94 Sea Zone 1 bomber moved from Southern Italy to 94 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from Southern Italy to 94 Sea Zone EDIT: 1 Italian_LCV moved from Southern Italy to Greece EDIT: 1 infantry moved from Southern Italy to Greece 1 armour, 1 artillery, 1 infantry and 1 mech_infantry moved from Tunisia to Algeria Italians take Algeria from French 2 infantry moved from Tobruk to Libya Combat - Italians Battle in Greece Italians attack with 1 Italian_LCV, 2 armour, 2 artilleries and 5 infantry Neutral_Allies defend with 4 infantry Italians win, taking Greece from Neutral_Allies with 2 armour, 2 artilleries and 4 infantry remaining. Battle score for attacker is 6 Casualties for Italians: 1 Italian_LCV and 1 infantry Casualties for Neutral_Allies: 4 infantry Battle in 94 Sea Zone Italians attack with 1 bomber, 1 destroyer and 1 fighter British defend with 1 cruiser Italians win with 1 bomber and 1 fighter remaining. Battle score for attacker is 2 Casualties for Italians: 1 destroyer Casualties for British: 1 cruiser Trigger Remove All Wolfpack: has removed 1 Wolfpack owned by Germans in 123 Sea Zone Trigger Remove All Wolfpack: has removed 1 Wolfpack owned by Germans in 112 Sea Zone Non Combat Move - Italians Trigger Wolfpack at123 SeaZones: Germans has 1 Wolfpack placed in 123 Sea Zone Trigger Wolfpack at112 SeaZones: Germans has 1 Wolfpack placed in 112 Sea Zone Trigger RailMovementAutoPlaceRemoveItalians: has removed 1 Europe_Rail owned by Italians in Southern Italy 1 bomber moved from 94 Sea Zone to Southern Italy 1 fighter moved from 94 Sea Zone to Southern Italy 1 infantry moved from Northern Italy to Southern Italy 1 infantry moved from Yugoslavia to Northern Italy 1 Europe_Rail moved from Southern Italy to Yugoslavia 1 Europe_Rail and 1 artillery moved from Yugoslavia to Southern Italydbb6ea70-31c5-49dd-9820-8cc1a035c64e-exp-game-1-jc-i2.tsvg
Place Units - Italians
1 fighter, 1 infantry and 1 italian_para placed in Southern ItalyTurn Complete - Italians Italians collect 15 PUs; end with 19 PUs Trigger Italians AdvancedProduction: Italians met a national objective for an additional 3 PUs; end with 22 PUsYep. Definitely better

eb90ae2f-9596-4103-b8ad-941627ca2750-exp-game-1-jc-i2.tsvg -
@trout said in EXP Game 1 Trout vs Johnny Cat:
eb90ae2f-9596-4103-b8ad-941627ca2750-exp-game-1-jc-i2.tsvg
Necessary Rule questions : @Beelee @Trout
How are Naval Mines used? There are three types
And what is the Air Transport plane used for?
Can any vehicle carry art or inf or mines and move them around the map?
How to place fortifications? ANZAC bought one but cannot seem to place it
@Trout: Before I can complete the ANZAC turn I need to know how to fortify New Guinea and how to grab those islands that are orange. My inf on transports cannot invade so maybe I need other types?? Thanks
-
@johnnycat Naval Mines I don’t know how to use either. There’s a rule that the only Pacific islands that can’t be fortified are New Zealand, New Guinea and Dutch New Guinea. I can edit you back the money for ANZAC if you don’t want the forts now that you know that. It’s in the rule book under Fortifications. Also forts can only be placed if you own the territory at the beginning of your turn.
If it helps in practice the best places to fortify are Philippines since Japan will eventually attack that and then it’s a common strategy for UK to take Sumatra and then start piling on more dudes in forts while Aussies do the same in Java. Some guys also build forts in Caroline Islands when playing Tojo. Hope that helps
-
-
@johnnycat You move in during NonCombat Movement. Sorry I should have mentioned that
-
Yea you have to have a Inf present in order to place Fortifications. Player Enforced on amount. Also don't take as casualty in battle as triplea will give that option.
New Guinea can't be fortified.

Page 32 of rulebook for further information.

I'll explain Naval Mines after this coffee kicks in

-
@beelee thank you
So if I have an air transport I can move in and art ?
Can I fly some infantry into those orange territories during non combat phase ?
-
Yes you can.


Page 51 of rulebook for full info.
Only the reich can fly Armored Units. Can't fly LMs. I think the LMs are Player Enforced can't remember.
Edit
You must control the TTy at the begininng of your turn to do so. Player EnforcedEdit 2
Landmines can move 1 space in NCM or they can use raill movement same as Inf etc ... You can also load 3 on a Naval Trprt plus 1 Infantry. If no Infantry can still only transport 3. I believe this is Player Enforced.They can't use Air Trprt. Player Enforced as well.
Edit 3
Naval Mines are a little more complex. I need to clarify the Notes. I will do so on next update. I thought I already had

They aren't in the rulebook. https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/assets/uploads/files/1692452927558-1.g40-naval-mines.pdf
An Escort can transport up to 3 Naval Mines. The way triplea does it, you have Naval Mine
counts as 1 Mine.Naval Mine 2
and 3 
You buy the desired amount during Purchase and then place in your Capital 2nd Place Phase. That's the only place you can place them.
Next turn, you can load onto a Escort and move them and the Escort same as you would a Transport. you do this in NCM. You can leave them "loaded" on the Escort or you can "sew/Arm" them in the SZ you're at.
In order to do that, after NCM at start of 2nd Place, use edit to remove the Escort and the NMs. Then edit the Escort back in and add the NM to the SZ using the "Changer" player.
There aren't many SZ Border specific ones like the LMs have, so you will need to document which SZ they are defending in the Comment Log and or Game thread.
There is some Player Enforcement with not using the Escort in combat etc ... read the above link for correct Game Play.
To remove "sweep" them, you have to use the dice roller and edit the correct result. Same for when Ships cross their defended area. Work same as LMs in that sense.
It's a little involved but it's the best triplea can do

Example in a bit.
Edit 4
If I remember right, it can be difficult to load them when a Naval Trprt is also present. You might have to click on the SZ where the Ships are and that gives you the option to select which Escort or Trprt to load.I usually just roll with a 3 spot.
Buy and place NM

In NCM load onto Escort

Move or not, in this example we aren't going to move. We are going to place them in 113 SZ and Arm them against 112 SZ. So at start of Place we remove with edit and then replace as mentioned above.
You have to remove the Escort in order to remove the NM.

If you forget and don't do it at the begininng of place and there is a Trprt present that changes the Escort into a Convoy escort, it won't let you change it.
Just add in the Changer Mines and ignore the loaded ones. Try and remove them on your next turn.
Edit Again lol
So the above might be a little misleading. You buy the NM and place it in your Capital 2nd Place Phase. Next turn you can load onto Escort
-
@beelee what is LM
And the game seemed
How are naval mines supposed to be used and against what units ?
Thx
bolded textto say somewhere I can’t recall that the UK can treat India like a capital for placement of capital-restricted units … including naval and land mines
In solo play versus the computer I notice that naval mines affect land attackers. Why this is?