Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6


  • Moderators Admin

    @wirkey said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @Hepps said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @ubernaut Nothing really planned atm. To be honest I am sooo busy... other than looking in on the forum every morning I haven't really looked at any TA stuff in ages. Sadly.

    he is probably working on GD, which should come out any day *duckandcover

    Never miss an opportunity to take a pot shot at me. 🙂


  • Moderators

    @Gully i thought power and politics was the next big production. 😛


  • Admin

    @Hepps said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @wirkey said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @Hepps said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @ubernaut Nothing really planned atm. To be honest I am sooo busy... other than looking in on the forum every morning I haven't really looked at any TA stuff in ages. Sadly.

    he is probably working on GD, which should come out any day *duckandcover

    Never miss an opportunity to take a pot shot at me. 🙂

    you had this coming for a loooooooong time


  • Admin

    I heard GD was coming out next week...


  • Moderators Admin

    Oh this is just turning into a regular roast of Hepster. 🤣


  • Moderators

    @redrum @Hepps noticed a bug in the map airplanes based in western africa cannot scramble to sz 62 for amphibious assaults. not sure if the bug effects other adjacent spaces.


  • Admin

    @ubernaut Do you have a save game?


  • Moderators

    @redrum you can use the one i just posted but you'll have to advance it to uk's turn:

    https://forums.triplea-game.org/post/40529



  • I have a kind of specific question about transports that maybe someone can answer. If an amphibious assault was attempted but the transport retreats from the sea battle, should the transport be able to unload in non combat? As it is right now, it isn't able to because it says that the transport has already unloaded in a previous phase, although it didn't.

    The save below shows why I am asking in case someone wants to see it, if the uk scrambles fighters to sea zone 24 it might be relevant

    https://forums.triplea-game.org/topic/2038/tww-3-0-0-6-8-colin-ax-vs-ubernaut-al-episode-3/6


  • Moderators

    @colin any combat move prevents a move in noncombat unless you are an airplane.


  • Moderators

    noticed a bit of a bug in terms of how the battle calc works on this map. if you are calculating as a defender it will not grant attacking air transports hp but if you run the calculator as an attacker it does. this can actually make a substantial difference with only a very few paratroopers in even relatively large battles.

    Screen Shot 2020-07-19 at 11.27.49 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-07-19 at 11.39.14 AM.png


  • Moderators

    hmm, i guess it's not actually whether you are the attacker or not it has to do with running the calc during an actual combat move (manual or not it seems to be affected by turn phase).

    it also seems to not adding the air transports attack value unless you are running the calc in combat move.

    For instance, with advanced special warfare, a paratrooper starts with an attack of 2 adding an air transport would normally give 2 support bonus on the paratrooper plus an additional point for the transport itself for a total of 5.

    alpine units get 3 to start adding an air transport subtracts 2 for the penalty but then adds one back in for the transport's attack value for a total of 2.

    but if the calc is run in a noncombat phase it only gives +2 for a paratrooper for a total of 4. for alpines the end result is -2 for a total of 1.


  • Moderators

    is right that research centers should only take 2 materials to build after improved defensive structure tech is achieved? currently it only charges you 2.


  • Moderators Admin

    @ubernaut said in Total World War: December 1941 3.0.0.6:

    @colin any combat move prevents a move in noncombat unless you are an airplane.

    You are correct, but, as offloading is actually a movement for the cargo, not for the transport, this rule would be irrelevant for the @colin case if the units were already on board at the start of the turn (as them moving as cargo is not a movement for them, only for the transport), no matter if they were plotted to be offloaded (if they weren't, and, in the TWW case, the transport was already in the hostile sea zone at the start of the turn (meaning one or more enemy units were mobilized in the same zone), with units already on board, and didn't plot to offload anything, thus just retreated because other units of the turn power were sent into the hostile zone, to generate a battle during which the decision of retreating (these units together with the non-moved transport) was taken, the matter would be all the more clear, in that the cargo didn't move at all (as being cargo aboard a unit that retreats is not a movement for the cargo, either)).

    To be clear, while in TripleA you move a land unit being cargo assigned to a sea unit from a hostile sea zone into the land zone the unit is offloading into, this movement doesn't actually happen until the sea zone is still hostile (therefore, a unit that was already on board a retreated transport at the start of the turn never actually moved, on the turn). To clarify, while TripleA makes you move every unit offloaded into an enemy territory during Combat Move, in theory only the units offloaded from friendly sea zones are offloading during Combat Move, while the units offloaded from hostile sea zones are offloading during Conduct Combat if at all, instead.

    The reason why you cannot offload anything in Non Combat Move from a unit that was retreated during Conduct Combat is that the rules specifically forbid retreated units to offload anything for the rest of the turn (in all basic rules set), and TripleA offers no property for not having this behaviour (likely because the beaviour is the same for all basic games).

    Of course, if you loaded a unit during Combat Move, to offload it during Conduct Combat, then after retreating the transport the unit cannot offload anymore also for the reason you are mentioning, but here this rule is superfluous, as you are always specifically forbidden to offload any transports that retreated on the same turn, anyway (if the only reason would be the rule you mention, then you could not Non-Combat offload off retreated transports units that you loaded on the same turn, but you would be able to offload units that were already on board at the start of the turn).

    @Panther might want to check I didn't proffer heresies.


  • Moderators

    @Cernel way too late in the day (22:34 local and 4.5 strongish beers in) for me to digest that reply. i'm gonna have try again tomorrow. 😛


  • Moderators

    @Cernel sounds about right to me. 🙂


Log in to reply