@schulz The rule in AA1914 prevents the Germans from gaining any more territory after the Russian Revolution, which limits the advantage of an eastern strategy.
Optional Rule-The Russian Revolution
Russia, already under great social and economic stress, may incur such desperate conditions that a Bolshevik revolution
ignites. The revolution will occur at the end any Russian turn starting in round four if Russia is losing the war. Russia will be
considered to be losing the war if all of the following conditions are met:
• Three or more territories adjacent to Moscow are controlled by the Central Powers.
• At least one other original Russian territory is controlled by the Central Powers or contested.
• Moscow is controlled by Russia or contested.
If the revolution occurs, the Imperial government is replaced with a republic. As a consequence of this, an armistice will be
signed with the Central Powers, effectively removing Russia from the war, and the game. All Russian units outside of original
Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have
a turn. The Central Powers may no longer attack Russian units or move units into territories controlled by Russia. Central
Powers forces can move into or out of territories contested between them and Russia at any time. Russian units will not
participate in any battles occurring in such territories. Rules restricting land unit movement out of contested territories (see
page 15) no longer apply to Russian territories; however, the Central Powers must maintain at least one infantry unit in each
such territory at all times. Central Powers continue to collect income for any Russian territories they control, but they do not
collect income from contested territories.