Understanding Kamikaze Rules
Kindwind last edited by
3 Planes are attacking with 1 carrier in the attacking sea zone with another carrier in range if the other carrier moves into position to land on. Now if you are attacking using the no kamikaze rules you must move the 2nd carrier into range on the attack move you cannot move the 2nd carrier into range on the non combat move. There is also a 2nd attack in HI that also places the same 2 AC as a potential landing space. So the same carrier is used in two separate attacks and needs to land both planes which it can not do.
It's not that the plane has a potential place to land after the attack it must have a place to land on the attack. The potential to land on the 2nd carrier is not a landing place. The potential landing space on the 2n carrier is not the same as a landing place which is the triggering event for no kamikaze rules.
It breaks the rules for combat moves and allows for more movement points for the AC without committing the resources of the 2 AC to the attack. There is also a 2nd attack in HI that also places the same 2 AC as a potential landing space. You can't do both.
Can anyone explain to me why the above would be wrong in a no kamikaze game?
@kindwind For every air movement to be legal during the Combat Movement phase, you only need to be able to land all your aircraft by the end of your turn assuming that, by the end of the forthcoming Conduct Combat phase,
- all attacked units have been killed or have submerged,
- all attacking units have survived and
- all carriers have not retreated.
@kindwind You cannot move a carrier during Combat Movement unless it either starts or ends movement inside a hostile sea zone: if the carrier is meant to move from a friendly to an other friendly sea zone, you must wait Non Combat Movement to move it. Moreover, you can then move it somewhere else or nowhere if, at that point, all surviving aircraft can land without the carrier.