TripleA Rules for Anniversary Edition TOURNAMENTS


  • Admin

    TOURNAMENT RULES

    For AA50 games (either the '41 or '42 version) the original ruleset plus the most recent version of the FAQs are applied. By default the NOs (national objectives) are in effect and seazone16 is freely accessible, but technology development is not allowed.

    The following victory conditions apply:
    Beside the wihdrawal of a player the game is over when the axis or the allies hold minimum 15 victory cities at the end of a round (after US turn).

    Bidding rules for A&A Anniversary Edition

    You are bidding on the allies, that means the player with the lowest bid is playing the allies.
    The lower rated seed will begin the bidding. Bids shall be exchanged by email initially, and bid responses must be replied to with 24 hours. If your opponent fails to respond to the bid, please copy Deltium (5683deltium@gmail.com).
    Additional sea units may only be placed in sea zones where already units of the same power are present
    No additional bombers may be placed during the bidding, but fighters are OK.
    Only ONE unit per territory is allowed with the bid units
    Additional land units and industrial complexes can only be placed in areas belonging to the same nation as the to be placed unit, which means russian units in russian areas (red), english units in english areas (brown), american units in american areas (dark green) and chinese units in chinese areas (light green). China may only place infantry units. Same rules apply to the 1942 setup.
    Do note that kamikaze attacks are NOT allowed.

    Order Of Loss in battles (OOL)
    In general first the inexpensive (IPC value) and weaker defending units are removed, and only after that the more expensive units. The software automatically removes both attacking and defending units according to the standard-OOL. The attacker has the possibility to manually correct the OOL for his units. He may do this by manually correcting the appropriate fields. However, if he deviates from the standard-OOL he has to notify his opponent before moving on with rolling the dice. The most efficient way to do so is by sending an email to your opponent BEFORE continuing. Example: Attack on GER, 4th battle round: 1arm 4ftr 1bmb (attacking) vs 1inf 2ftr (defending). Say the defense scores two hits, then the software will automatically remove the tank and one of the fighters as losses. If the attacker prefers to conquer the territory instead of just clearing it, he will rather want to keep the tank and sacrifice a second fighter. He changes this manually,and then he continues rolling. Of course, the attacker is not allowed to change the order of loss for the defender, except the defender specifically told him to do so before. Under certain circumstances a "OOL-stop" is mandatory. In this case the attacker rolls the dice for his attacking units and then must ask his opponent for the OOL. Only after the OOL has been communicated the battle continues. This principle holds for every round of combat unless the defender states an OOL for the entire fight.

    Standard OOL A&A Anniversary Edition:
    Standard-OOL for the attacker in land battles: Inf, Rtl, Arm, Ftr, Bmb
    Standard-OOL for the defender in land battles: Inf, Rtl, Arm, Bmb, Ftr
    Standard-OOL for the attacker in sea battles: BB (first hit), Sub, Des, Cru, Ac, Ftr, Bmb, BB (second hit)
    Standard-OOL for the defender in sea battles: BB (first hit), Sub, Des, Cru, Ac, Ftr, BB (second hit)
    An OOL-stop is in effect whenever destroyers or loaded carriers are amongst the defending units.

    For some battles, the defender may, depending on his strategy, wish to give an OOL that is different from standard OOL. The defender has to declare this special OOL when ending his turn. To do this, he may either state a concrete order of loss (e.g.: OOL = trns, bb, 1st ftr, ac, 2nd ftr) or set a general stop signal. Please take great care when using this latter option - it is very time consuming and causes quite a delay in the game.

    For Multinational defense, that being units of different nations defending one attacked territory. If the attacker plans to withdraw, depending on the circumstances it can make a big difference to which nation the surviving units may belong. In this case the attacker may ask the defender what units of what nation he wants to lose first and then base his decision whether to withdraw or to continue the fight. If the attacker does not use this option, the defender is entitled to freely chose what units of what nation are taken as losses before commencing his turn. Of course, this only applies to units of one kind (e.g. inf), otherwise standard OOL applies.

    Example: Russia is attacked defended by 20inf 2ftr RUS; 10inf 2arm 2ftr UK; 6inf 3arm 3ftr USA.
    Suppose the attacker hits 20 times and then pulls back, the defender then may freely choose whose inf he loses before he commences the next turn. For example, he could chose to lose all Russian inf, or 10 British + 6 American + 4 Russian, or any other combination of 20 infs. He may not, however, chose to lose arm or ftr as losses.

    Frequency of playing
    To finish a tournament A&A game within 30 days a rhythm of no more than 36 hours a turn is expected.
    However, a turn must be made within the stated time frame for the respective tournaments:
    Single player tournaments: 36 hours
    Process for violation of these rules:
    1st violation: The opponent should be notified of the violation and asked nicely to comply with the tournament rules, Deltium should be copied (5683deltium@gmail.com)
    2nd violation: Notification to Deltium. If the violation is confirmed the opponent will receive a warning
    3rd violation: Notification to Deltium. If the violation is confirmed the opponent will be disqualified.

    Vacation / Real Life Conflicts
    For vacation, you have to inform Deltium and your opponent. The maximum amount of vacation time in one tournament round is 2 weeks. Make every attempt to play during this period, but flexibility is granted. Mistreatment of this rule can lead to disqualification.

    Adjudication of tournament games
    If both players maintained the turn rhythm, time planning and vacation rule and the game has still not been finished, the game has to be adjudicated to see who enters the next round of the tournament. Deltium shall send a mail to all players who have not finished their games yet, to inform the players about the upcoming ending date. If the players can not agree on a winner an adjudication is needed and both players have to send to Deltium at least the following:

    Recent Map
    Comment on future strategy.
    The comment should contain which strategy will lead the player to victory. To ensure anonymity the players should only talk in terms of "the Axis" or "the Allies" and should not use their player names. Voluntarily the players can send the maps of the complete last round, plus the written game log.
    This information will be sent to 3 judges (experienced players) by Deltium.
    The judges don't know whose game they are judging nor who the other 2 judges are. This is to ensure that the decisions are independent and not influenced by personal preferences. The adjudication (which side will win the game) will be sent to Deltium who will inform the players about the result. The winner by this decision reaches the next round.

    Attention: Games that did not at least reach the 6th round (after US 5) cannot be judged. If both players are not responsible such that a game doesn't proceed to US 5 in the given 30 days, both players will be disqualified. If only one player is responsible for the delay, his opponent has to report that fact to Deltium in time, as was mentioned above.

    Important: The decision of the judges is only for the tournament, and is final. No appeals.

    Additional Questions that occur frequently on ACs and fighters:

    First, on a general point, and as stated in the rules, kamikaze figs are not allowed. This is consistent with the rulebook on page 14, which states,

    An air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total move value. Thus, a bomber with a normal move value of 6 cannot move six spaces to get to a hostile space. It must save at least one movement point to get to a neighboring friendly territory where it can land. A fighter can move its full four spaces to attack instead of saving movement, but only if a carrier could be there by the conclusion of the Mobilize New Units phase.

    Furthermore, on page 26,

    "You cannot send air units on 'suicide runs' deliberately moving them into combat with no place to land afterward. If there is any question about whether an attack is a 'suicide run' then in the Combat Move Phase, you must declare, prior to rolling any battles, some possible way (however remote the possibility is) for all your attacking units to land safely that turn. This could include a combination of combat moves. It could also include noncombat moves by a carrier. If it does include noncombat moves by a carrier, then the carrier cannot move in the Combat Move phase"

    With respect to the questions, I will do my best to answer, as follows:

    Question: "Do ACC have to move to pickup location during CM?"
    Answer: No. Since you have the option to move the carrier there in non-combat, you do not have to move the AC solely in combat to a sea zone where the figs can land safely, but for clarification, it must be possible in either combat or NCM.

    Question: If above is false, then does the ACC have to move to pickup location during NCM, even if the fighters that were supposed to land have been killed?
    Answer: No they do not if ALL the fighters were destroyed, but if one or more figs survived, then the appropriate number of ACs need to be moved there (e.g. one AC for 1-2 figs, 2 ACs for 3-4 figs, etc.)

    Question: If point 1. is false, then what is the rule on a double enemy block of ACC, e.g. the ACC begins the turn in sz A and wants to pickup fighters in sz C. However sz B has an enemy ships blocking the path to sz C, and there is also enemy ships in sz C (pickup location).?
    Answer: good question! If sz B is blocking sz C, then there is only one possibility to go to sz C to land the figs, and that is the case where other naval or air units clear both sz B and sz C, so that the AC in question can then legitimately move to sz C in non-combat. This is consistent with the rule book, but for avoidance of doubt, that AC in question cannot be involved in combat, as it cannot move in both CM and NCM.

    Question: is the battle calculator inside triple A game the only officially allowed demonstration of results?
    Answer: no, any legitimate battle calc can be used, but at the end of the day, it's just math, so if there any dispute on the >0% number, I can run the numbers in excel for anybody.

    Question: is RL and LL treated the same?
    Answer: Yes

    Question: Does the software automatically address these contingencies, or do we need to monitor and enforce this rule ourselves?
    Answer: As this is a complex set of contingencies, you will need to monitor and enforce this manually. Perhaps in a future version of the software, we can address this, but for the time being, it needs to be enforced manually. THEREFORE, the rule shall be as follows, IF a player violates the AC / fig rule stated above (wither it was intentional or accidental), that particular battle must be re-rolled and the original results will not stand. This entails making an edit to the game file, if such a scenario occurs. That being said, if a player continues with his/her next move and does not challenge the battle results, then the result will indeed stand, and a retrospective challenge beyond one power's turn cannot be done (e.g. if this issue happens during the UK turn, and Japan does not challenge it in his/her turn, then the US/Russia may continue). This is to ensure that everyone does indeed take responsibility and check the moves by his/her opponent in the "history" section of the software.

    In summary, the best thing to do is to be very careful with your combat and non-combat moves in order to avoid a dispute like this. Each opponent should proactively communicate with their opponent in such scenarios.

    Question on Edits:

    Edits are typically requested for common oversights including, but not limited to, forgetting to place new units, moving an AA, non-controversial NCM moves, etc. Some other edits are more controversial in nature, such as material non-combat moves, changes in builds, combat, etc. As each and every situation is different, common oversights will tend to be allowed, and I encourage each player to be reasonably flexible. However, certain edits will NOT be allowed if they are more sensitive in nature. As there are hundreds of contingencies, please try to sort this out amongst yourselves, but if you vehemently disagree, you can write to me at 5683deltium@gmail.com for a ruling. However, do take note that I am not fond of edits, as it is the player's responsibility to be careful during each step of the move. However, I will be reasonable for the simple ones.


  • Admin

    @deltium Great Job!


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to TripleA Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.