v1 Transports Rules Questions


  • Moderators

    I've four questions about World War II Classic Second Edition.

    1. If I have a transport with 2 infantries already loaded before the turn, can I offload 1 of them into a hostile territory, during Combat Movement, then offload the second one during Non Combat Movement, and, if so, can I offload it to another territory and regardless whether the transport moved or not (bridging)? And how about any differences in case such transport also took part in a victorious sea battle?

    2. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Combat Movement, you can load a transport you are sending to take part in a sea battle, without offloading it on the same phase, applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, could you, instead, load it and offload to a friendly land territory from the hostile sea zone, during Combat Movement? (I suppose it doesn't, and there is no way you can both offload units into a friendly territory from a transport and use that same transport as fodder in an attack, unless the units were already loaded before the turn)

    3. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Non Combat Movement, you can only either load or unload a transport that hasn't offloaded any units yet and that has taken part in a victorious sea battle applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, what could such a transport do? (I suppose it doesn't, and a transport that participated in combat cannot load or move anymore at all, but it can offload units that were already loaded before the turn, as well as you cannot offload units to friendly land territories during Combat Movement, in any case)

    4. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Non Combat Movement, a retreated transport cannot load nor offload anything applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, what could such a transport do? (I suppose it does, and a transport that retreated from combat cannot load, offload or move anymore at all, but I've no idea about the case he had units already loaded before the turn that were not sent into a sea borne assault)


  • Donators

    @cernel The same transport can't offload into different territories. This is enforced by TripleA.


  • Donators Moderators Admin

    @cernel Frankly I was surprised you didn't know point 1 was illegal in TripleA. Is this a an imposter Cernel. 😉


  • Moderators

    @general_zod Just to be clear, the questions refer to how Classic Second Edition (the TripleA default) should work, not how the TripleA program currently behave as default.


  • Donators Moderators Admin

    @cernel Personally I'm unaware of any A&A originals that allowed point 1. But It's been a long time since I played the board games too.