interesting question…


  • Moderators

    anyone ever seen this one before?

    "If I lose a capital with a power, then with that power, I conquer another capital, do I get their ipc?

    I am playing a game of global 1940 and I was stupid and lost Japan to the us, but I'm about to take over Moscow with my remaining units. My question is, will I get the Soviets' ipc, and will I be able to spend it on later turns?"

    https://www.reddit.com/r/AxisAllies/comments/i6x1e9/if_i_lose_a_capital_with_a_power_then_with_that/

    my gut is that since you cannot produce the ipcs/pus just sort of vaporize but yeah if anyone knows the answer to this one already…


  • Moderators Admin

    @ubernaut What I'm virtually sure all rules of all basic rulesets literally say is that you will capture the PUs upon conquering the enemy capital, but you will be not able to use them until your capital is liberated.

    In my opinion, this makes no sense, as, since your PUs are always stored in your capital, you should not be able to have saved PUs if you don't have a capital. Anyway, oversight or not, I believe there is nothing in the rules that requires you having a capital for capturing or holding PUs. Meaning that, in my opinion, the rules should have said that you cannot keep captured PUs if you didn't own your capital at the beginning of your turn, but I believe they do not say it.

    As far as the game in question is concerned, the fact that you capture PUs even if your own capital is in enemy hands is explicitly stated (but I'm actually virtually sure this works the same way for all games since Classic 1st Edition, if @Panther can confirm).


    A side effect of this is that, if you have a game with Combat Move before Purchase, in TripleA you will be able to spend the captured PUs in the same round you liberate your capital if left undefended, because TripleA would give your capital back during Combat Move, so you have it during Purchase (obviously illegal).


  • Moderators Admin

    @ubernaut said in interesting question…:

    anyone ever seen this one before?

    "If I lose a capital with a power, then with that power, I conquer another capital, do I get their ipc?

    I am playing a game of global 1940 and I was stupid and lost Japan to the us, but I'm about to take over Moscow with my remaining units. My question is, will I get the Soviets' ipc, and will I be able to spend it on later turns?"

    https://www.reddit.com/r/AxisAllies/comments/i6x1e9/if_i_lose_a_capital_with_a_power_then_with_that/

    my gut is that since you cannot produce the ipcs/pus just sort of vaporize but yeah if anyone knows the answer to this one already…

    From the rulebook(s) (here Pacicfic 1940.2, p.21) (bolded by me):

    "In addition, you collect all unspent IPCs from the treasury of the
    original controller of the captured capital. For Example, if Japan
    conquers India, and the United Kingdom has unspent IPCs,
    those IPCs are immediately transferred to Japan’s player. You
    collect these IPCs even if your own capital is in enemy hands.
    "

    and

    "The original controller of the captured capital is still in the
    game but can’t collect income from any territories he or she
    still controls and can’t buy new units. The player skips all but
    the Combat Move, Conduct Combat, and Noncombat Move
    phases until the capital is liberated.
    "

    So as Japan you receive the Soviet IPC when capturing Moscow - but you will not be able to spend them until Tokyo gets liberated.


  • Moderators

    @Panther @Cernel thanks i forwarded your answer to the OP on reddit. 🙂


Log in to reply