AA revised - possible upgrades



  • Ok @Panther , so if units are loaded in combat movement they still have to be unloaded? Doesn't seem like any exception would change this one.

    If a transport starts with one inf on board, it can load another, assault a territory, and then if the battles succeed, it can offload the first inf to that territory only, no different territories, on NCM? I'm guessing there is no way that the transport can re-load an inf into the space that was occupied by the assaulting inf.

    Alternatively, it can use the inf pre-loaded to assault a territory but then on NCM load a single inf into the unused space?

    However, as written point 2 is incorrect. Transports which have been in combat cannot move. They can only load or unload and not both, at least as I have read the rules.


  • Moderators

    @Cernel said in AA revised - possible upgrades:

    @Panther said in AA revised - possible upgrades:

    @ubernaut In Revised-OOB this is "special" about transports (compared to later editions):

    • Transports cost 8 IPCs and defend on a 1.
    • Transports may be chosen as casualties at any time.
    • Transports fight like any other unit, though they have no attack value.
    • The presence of enemy transports alone makes a sea zone hostile.
    • Transports cannot load or unload in a sea zone containing only unsubmerged enemy subs and/or transports.
    • Transports can load after combat if they don’t unload.
    • Transports can offload into the same territory in both combat and noncombat movement if the second unit was loaded in a previous turn.

    I believe you missed two points, that are actually quite closely related with one another. As I said, the other things that Revised OOB transports can do are:

    • Transports can load units if they are going to take part in a battle, with no requirement to offload them on the same phase (not in Revised LHTR).
    • Transports can (non combat) offload after a victorious battle, no matter if the cargo was loaded on that same turn or already on board (not in Revised LHTR).

    Sorry, I was wrong.
    Clarifications here:
    https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/32322/offloading-in-both-combat-and-non-combat-movement/3

    The first point is completely wrong, as Krieghund clarified.

    The second point is correct, but it applies only to cargo already loaded (because anything you load during Combat Move you must offload, on the same phase, or try to (and failing is possible only by retreating, that gets all the cargo stuck on board)).

    So, basically, the only point that @Panther missed is something like this:

    • Transports can (non combat) offload after a victorious battle (if they have any cargo on board, which in turn has to mean that cargo was there already at start turn) (but still restricted to the same territory, if they already performed a sea borne assault).

    The only other thing it might be worth checking is if there might be any specific differences in what you can do starting in a hostile sea zone.


  • Moderators

    @Cernel said in AA revised - possible upgrades:

    @Panther said in AA revised - possible upgrades:

    • Transports can offload into the same territory in both combat and noncombat movement if the second unit was loaded in a previous turn.

    On this regard, I'm actually not sure if a move like this would be allowed: starting the turn with an empty transport, loading 2 infantries into it, sending the transport into a naval battle and offloading 1 infantry into a sea borne assault, during Combat Move, winning the naval battle and the land battle where the unit was offloaded (this last thing may be granted, in case the territory is empty or having capturable units only), then offloading the other 1 infantry, into the same territory, during Non Combat Move.

    ?

    I checked this is wrong. However it would be correct if reworded this way:

    starting the turn with an transport with 1 infantry in it, loading 1 infantry into it, sending the transport into a naval battle and offloading 1 infantry into a sea borne assault, during Combat Move, winning the naval battle and the land battle where the unit was offloaded (this last thing may be granted, in case the territory is empty or having capturable units only), then offloading the other 1 infantry, into the same territory, during Non Combat Move.

    Basically, in Revised you have an additional incentive, however small in importance, for keeping your cargo on board across the rounds (really bad for playability, actually, as tracking loaded stuff is a serious pain). This is actually a bit bigger if you add also the (Revised OOB only) case of offloading 1 infantry to take 1 territory, then protecting this infantry by offloading an AA Gun, on the next Non Combat Move phase (this is actually something that has a good chance to be a good move, especially if you plan contesting with naval bombardment rather than with air units).


Log in to reply